My thoughts on “The Fault in our Stars” by John Green

Well , let me start by saying that I am quite a bookworm. When I have the time I can read your average length novel in a day and a half. I’ve read many. many books and let me just say – – The Fault in our Stars –  – what an absolute masterpiece! I’m not usually one who cries in books – – movies from time to time – – but books never. Well, I think reading this made up for every time I didn’t cry in a book! Gosh. So sad but yet so beautiful at the same time.

I loved how humble and down to Earth Hazel was and I absolutely adored the wittiness and charisma of Augustus. Together they make a delightful and witty couple. The characters were so real and I felt I could so easily relate to them. When I read the book synopsis, it described them as teenagers and I sort of expecting the book to be a little childish because the narrator would be a teenage girl but it wasn’t AT ALL! I felt like a lot of the book could be applicable to all people – – across all walks of life. Anybody who has ever loved and lost, anybody who has ever known love, known suffering, known fear, known disappointment (I know we ALL have) could relate to this magnificent book! It’s been a while since I’ve read a book, and once I’d finished just sat with my mind reeling, scrambling to try replay all the beautiful words I had just read. It’s been a while since a book truly touched me transported me to another world and I have to say – – The Fault in our Stars definitely did this! I recommend it 100%.I have yet to see the movie but I’m scared now the book may have set the bar too high :p. 

Just to finish off this blog I have included some of my absolute favourite and most touching quotes from this gorgeous novel 🙂

“Maybe ‘okay’ will be our ‘always”

-Augustus Waters

 

“As he read, I fell in love the way you fall asleep: slowly, and then all at once.”

– Hazel Grace

 

And my absolute favourite ❤

 

“There are infinite numbers between 0 and 1. There’s .1 and .12 and .112 and an infinite collection of others. Of course, there is a bigger infinite set of numbers between 0 and 2, or between 0 and a million. Some infinities are bigger than other infinities. A writer we used to like taught us that. There are days, many of them, when I resent the size of my unbounded set. I want more numbers than I’m likely to get, and God, I want more numbers for Augustus Waters than he got. But, Gus, my love, I cannot tell you how thankful I am for our little infinity. I wouldn’t trade it for the world. You gave me a forever within the numbered days, and I’m grateful.”

– Hazel Grace

 

It is strange and ironic but the only accurate way I can explain the way I feel about this book is from the book itself! 🙂 Here it is:

“Sometimes, you read a book and it fills you with this weird evangelical zeal, and you become convinced that the shattered world will never be put back together unless and until all living humans read the book.”
― John Green, The Fault in Our Stars

Make the right choice: Read this stunning book! 🙂

2 thoughts on “My thoughts on “The Fault in our Stars” by John Green

  1. This book made me cry so much. It wasn’t normal. I’ve teared up before from reading books but this one was uncontrollable. I had to stop reading for a moment because I couldn’t read due to my tears. It was a bit much but I couldn’t help it.

    Like

    • The part that really got me going was near the end when he said “Okay?” and she replies “Okay”. Now with the knowledge of what okay means :(. Ahh such a stunning book though! Sad but very beautiful 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

